In Like a Lamb

If it continues to be as beautiful as today March may never see the lion.

DSC_0827Down time.

During which I have become an observer and celebrator, a learner and a soul at peace.

It’s taken a lifetime to get here. Maybe it just took me longer to understand some of the things you already know.

How very carefully  I take my line and run it through each guide knowing it will meet the acquaintance of water at some point.  Knots tie together a quiet confidence of bringing life to shore.  Running my fingers over each lure, metal and feathers  with hope of making the right choice. Each little thing we do and think of  to bring us to water so intentionally.  I walk, I walk so far and so long some days. In each step I walk towards a feeling so hard to capture in words. It’s freedom, happiness, love and hope all hanging on to each cast I let got of.  No one can touch me here with any negativity because it’s here where I heal and rejoice this life.

This life I am so grateful to still be here experiencing.

A brush with death is something you never forget no matter how many days ago it was. You wake up with a heart so thankful that the grains of sand in your shoes are proof you get to do it again.

It becomes almost difficult when interacting with people who take this all of granted. Try as you may you hope for some understanding of why you are overflowing with happiness each sunrise.

Forgiveness and retribution.

It is perfectly sensible to feel that several of the traditionally self-sufficient philosophical justifications of punishment may be necessary. ‘Retribution‘ implies that offences should be balanced out with equivalent penalties. 

2004 study published in Science by University of Zurich researcher Dominique de Quervain and his colleagues had people think about exacting revenge on an “enemy”. What they experienced was measurable pleasure: their dorsal striatum (the pleasure center of the brain) lit up in a PET scan while doing so. 

At some point in your life something is going to happen to change it. It happens to every single one of us. Something or someone is going to turn your life upside down good/bad. It could also be a parent, sibling, friend, BF/GF, or stranger. It’s going to bring you places unimaginable. Resist the urge to let it own you. Make your peace because what you do with such a major life event will determine the rest of your life and what you live for. 

Retribution can take many forms and I live mine everyday.

It’s sunrise and the light through the windows are these beautiful, bouncing beams. My first thought is panic. Seconds later,I remember where I am. A warmth fills my soul and immediately makes me grateful. At some point today I’ll touch water, a trail, or maybe you…but everyday I am going to get even by living… and doing so beautifully. xo

DSC_0944

I want to live in this place in my heart forever where fishing takes me.

Days.

Days of which start with a clear view into the night sky full of bursting diamonds and a moon so bright it forms light of almost mid day.  With my first foot placed upon the sand I know I am walking into my future. It’s there waiting, always waiting with so many possibilities.  As I begin my journey it is often quiet except for the sounds around me nature creates.  I can’t help but think the universe conspired to bring me there.

To deem me worthy to take all that in. And at the very end of most days put on a visual showcase of colors of sunset.

Everyone different, each beautiful.

halo2

I have been blessed to encounter many a beautiful fish of all species in fresh and salt water. It’s never been quite as important as now to let go of what you do not need for future generations.

This calling  was placed in my heart long ago, before I could even figure out what was pulling me to the water. I don’t question it, just rejoice in finding it , my love of fishing. Something I hope anyone who loves it can get to.

We do get there when we become quiet and listen to ourselves and what makes us happiest.

Spring run is soon upon us and it is my sincere hope that you find your way to the water .

DSC_0243

 

It hard to believe a year has gone by since Tony left to fish the heavenly universe  – no greater a fishing friend to so many of us.

I miss his enthusiasm for this life, stories,  his kindness and his genuine extension of friendship.

tn

 

 

 

