Chasing Striped Bass

128

It’s been a  while and I sincerely apologize. Life has been nothing short of an adventure in fishing and  lessons in marine biology hands on these last months. Started off chasing tuna to slipping into the rhythm of fishing everyday, searching for striped ones.  They still are what gets me to the water daily. The bait fish have been plenty and no shortage of bluefish either. Learning every aspect of the water and what surrounds me I am a student of the sea and sand. Many times I am rewarded with fish I have never seen before.

20140919_173719

If I could list all these wonderful, successful fishermen who have been so kind to teach me all about the craft the list would run off the page. I have a profound respect for people who pay-it-forward in the fishing community. They are a wealth of knowledge. Its been very humbling to be around some of the legends and record holders of the community. But also the guy on the beach who says.. use this today.  Watching them and taking everything they teach and implementing it.  Something just clicks and you find things you learned in the past are void and now you are doing it correctly. It’s often an a-ha moment.  Simple things like leaders, knots, line, bait, moon, tide etc…things become easier and the fish more plentiful. It’s you vs. the fish. It’s the way it has been forever and will always be. Remember that.

109

Days of present are filled with the anticipation of  stripers. The journey continues. Which often leads me to ponder – did you ever stop and think about all the people this fish has a hold on? How many books written?  How far people travel to be romanced by the run? Just how satisfying they are to reel in often let go? Like life taking in and letting go.

009

Everyday is a lesson. I watch the changes of seasons sweep by me along with all the treasures nature offers up. Even on rainy days I wonder what will I learn today there.

060

196

070

20140909_170209

20140922_171235

20141013_161011

050

084

104

061

As I write this it is the wee hours of the morning. The first rays of light are starting to find me and I smile. There are often days I think how blessed I am to have arrived here alive. Life surely has shown me the very worst and best of mankind. The one very valuable lesson I learned is that there are far more good people in the world.  Embrace and surround yourself with those people. People who teach you things, nourish your soul, encourage you and help you on the journey. And be yourself there for others to walk beside them, hold them up and share all the goodness at your fingertips. Just walk outside and let nature take you in. May this Fall find you wrapped in happiness with life and the journey of the run. ♥

If two points are destined to touch, the universe will always find a way to make the connection – even when all hope seems to be lost. Certain ties cannot be broken. They define who we are – and who we can become. Across space, across time, among paths we cannot predict – nature always finds a way.” – Touch
147
