Opposing Winds

 “Sometimes it’s the same moments that take your breath away that breathe purpose and love back into your life.”  Steve Maraboli

066

 

187a

197

 

014

023

139

043

056

 

119a

 

003

tunadeathcircle

20140817_184150

 

 

bluefinhead

058a

 

20140817_190207

119a

129a

177a

177

 

032

075

 “My dear,
In the midst of hate, I found there was, within me, an invincible love.
In the midst of tears, I found there was, within me, an invincible smile.
In the midst of chaos, I found there was, within me, an invincible calm.
I realized, through it all, that…
In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer.
And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there’s something stronger – something better, pushing right back.

Truly yours,
Albert Camus”

089

 

It seems like the closer I get to stringing a bunch of insanely good moments together the quieter I become. Maybe it’s the peace that rests within after years of living in fear and pain. The next step is a big one and I am not sure how it will be received. I feel like it’s important to pay it forward now …. time. The idea started not long ago and was greatly received by someone who filled their days as a quiet hero to many not only as her profession but way of life.  She believed in me and this idea when I no longer believed in myself. She understood that I had to wait until I got to where I am to do what is next on the journey. She lost her battle with cancer recently quickly… not months, weeks. She left behind a legacy besides being a wonderful wife, mother, daughter. There are people who you encounter that change you, help you, protect you… she truly was a saint among us. Many of us were blessed to call her our friend and she will be greatly missed.

Lots of lessons this past year, not all fishing. Humanity, truth, healing  and compassion. I am the sum of my experiences humbled by the ocean. The vastness of the shores that reach beyond my vision compel me to do something worthy. To live up our potential of why we are all here. To not just exists in the safety of silence but to whisper to others “keep hope alive”.

Fishing didn’t just save me… it sustained me and continues to. This blog helped me to connect with some really brilliant and successful people in the fishing community.  I will take the words and give them a voice.

Next chapter.

 

 

 

