Snap The Clip

 

082

 

That sound set the tone for mayhem to take place again recently. Reeling in all the other lines and working the fish to the boat.

Making some memories.

It’s Tuna time and since my move it’s tuna time all the time last couple months. But it’s also been learning time. Learning the correct way to do things from reading the water, identifying species, actively participating in running of a boat and rigging my own gear. With that being said I would like to share a link from my friends over at USiA   and the IMPORTANCE of knowing some basic information that could save your life/crew or your captains. It’s titled What if You Were Suddenly in Command? It’s easy to get caught up in the excitement of being out there. But a responsible Captain will always be sure to have a well-informed crew, radios on, up to date safety gear and legitimate float plan.  The Boaters safety course is another thing for your crew to attend.

https://usia.com/2014/07/what-if-you-weresuddenly-in-command/

My evenings have been filled with wonder. I feel like everyday is lesson full of  hands on material. I find myself packing the bird book with the surf gear and camera. Getting  into some areas when the tide is out that are a little slice of heaven.

The last couple weeks the   juvenile Osprey have become quite vocal. At the first sign of light I hear them outside calling for fish to be dropped in the nest. It’s been great watching them grow daily. The bird that has my attention the most has been the Black Skimmer. To see them glide the shoreline at sunset, beak open, in unison with others is a beautiful dance on the water. The Common Turns and Least all have chicks that sit on the beach and wait to have food dropped into their open beaks. The have no fear and will come sit right beside you and cry while waiting.

The ocean has given up many of it treasures along the shorelines and I always find myself putting something in my pocket. Some not though and I take a picture and research as much as I can about it.

059

014

058

011

It was no surprise to see so many Lions Mane Jelly fish last week with the water temperatures as low as they were from the upwelling.

119

062

185

016

063

009

134

112

Just last week fluke fishing out on the ocean we saw the water filled with jelly fish and a week later they were all over the beach.

Comb jellies are named for their unique feature: plates of giant fused cilia, known as combs, which run in eight rows up and down their bodies. The combs act like tiny oars, propelling the comb jelly through the water. Many microscopic organisms, such as bacteria, also use cilia to swim—but comb jellies are the largest known animals to do so. The comb-rows often produce a rainbow effect. This is not bioluminescence, but occurs when light is scattered in different directions by the moving cilia.

Many comb jellies have a single pair of tentacles (often each tentacle is branched, giving the illusion of many tentacles) that they use like fishing lines to catch prey. They are armed with sticky cells (colloblasts) and unlike jellyfish, the tentacles of comb jellies don’t sting.

069

 

 

We are all born with particular dispositions–likes, dislikes, talents, etc. We move towards certain things and away from others, and those preferences–and our response to them– determine our fate. – Sara Eckel

 

Sometimes I get so excited about all this I want to take everyone by the hand and show them.. these simply things that can bring so much happiness into your life that are happening all around us.  Conversations with friends lately about how wonderfully simple nature is. Which leads to conversation of getting to this place in life of surrounding yourself with whatever and whoever brings you peace and happiness. That those things will only contribute to an already happy you. I don’t know what the answers are .. I know I was laying on the dock looking up at the super moon a while back and no one was around. It was so quiet and yet I could hear fish jumping….the shore grass rustling… and looking up at all those stars I felt like the universe  just gives you the greatest hugs sometimes. I am grateful.

217

 

 

