Pilgrimage

 A journey or search of moral or spiritual significance

030

So this happened yesterday...

I had a moment on the surf – casting into the sunrise. Can’t shake it and my heart feels like it’s about to burst.

Of all the years boat fishing on salt and walking in and along fresh water never have I experienced this before. Previous sunrises were all just a mere appreciation. This was much deeper. Because I let it in and held it. It’s right here ♥

There is a belief that the universe conspires to bring you right to a moment when everything you ever hold true is revealed. So very simple and beautiful. It took me time to open up my heart to being able to accept that – that everyone deserves that kind of love from the world. It’s the perfect moment spent of your life doing what your are passionate about and it’s ok to say… it was magic.

Forever I would  watch surf casters. Running down beaches, swimming out to fish, jumping rocks or just sitting patiently waiting. My experience was zero. They have taken me under their wings (or fins I should say)  and I get this. Why they do it and love it.  The work that goes into it and the feeling of ownership one on one with the water and the fish. The ocean is so loud yet silent to the outside world. And it’s just you… and you are accountable for that experience.

And the journey to be a better person and fisher-person continues with so much curiosity of my surroundings and heart so full of love for this very beautiful world we live in.

 

You do not have to be good.
You do not have to walk on your knees
for a hundred miles through the desert, repenting.
You only have to let the soft animal of your body
love what it loves.
Tell me about despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.
Meanwhile the world goes on.
Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain
are moving across the landscapes,
over the prairies and the deep trees,
the mountains and the rivers.
Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air,
are heading home again.
Whoever you are, no matter how lonely,
the world offers itself to your imagination,
calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting –
over and over announcing your place
in the family of things.
-Mary Oliver-

 

026

 

  “It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.” – E. Hemingway

20140530_201202

