Release

1. To set free from confinement, restraint, or bondage: released the prisoners.2. To free from something that binds, fastens, or holds back; let go:4. To relieve of obligation.5. To relieve of care and suffering.

IMG_2951
DSCF1815
whitemarlin920027
SB
SB

011

Often when releasing a fish I wonder what the recovery rate is. Freshwater fish always seem  much more delicate and need of care. Wreck fish (sea bass, tog), I would imagine most become dogfish nuggets. The ride up pops them open.. but you can take care for some success (air bladder relief). Big game fish… they are still fighting when they hit the deck if you are steady and quick on the reel.  Taggers are super good at this. Crabs… they are like screw you… bye.

I think the most delicate saltwater fish maybe the weakfish. For fresh I would say any brookie.

Some fish are just more  fragile, like people.

Like people when they are set free. The hook mark is the scar, like an encounter with any predator. It stays with them. And the lesson does too.

** I am 7 chapters into writing my book and it’s really been a great way to pour it all out. Sometimes the details are hard to go over.

Through writing comes healing, strength and discovery.

Hemingway was so clear.. write it… but I will add … let it go.

hurts

Love and forgiveness of oneself.

Truth and beauty of life.

