“Independence Day”

O beautiful for spacious skies,

DSCF2593

For amber waves of grain,

DSCF3133

For purple mountain majesties
Above the fruited plain!

162
America! America!
God shed his grace on thee

DSCF2692

And crown thy good with brotherhood
From sea to shining sea!

026

Written by Katharine Lee Bates

*All photo’s by Freshwatergirl©

Who are you?

Revelation of discovery lately. I am so immersed in fishing I have forgotten how to have normal conversations about other things. I have no idea what’s on TV anymore. I pulled away from politics but keep myself aware. Every “free” moment now is spent doing something fishing related. The “free” moments are valuable and I use them wisely. Reading, drawing, learning  about species and technique.

Like (still working on it).

http://www.animatedknots.com/bimini/index.php?Categ=fishing&LogoImage=LogoGrog.jpg&Website=www.animatedknots.com

Lately when I have a conversation  with someone who wants to discuss things like shopping, food, decorating, or sitting on the beach, I am at a loss for words. If you say shopping I think : tackle store. If you say beach I think : fishing. If you talk decorating I think: what set-up for that specific fishing. If you talk food well…. I think “hmmm flounder would be delicious right now, or fresh tuna”. Homemade something created. Best is books-LOL- like fifty shades…. if you say that: I think fifty ways to fish or tie knots.

Which reminds me of my discipline to not let my wrist bend. It’s not embarrassing to me to wrap the wrist if it will teach me to cast correctly. (I know 100%- some of you know what I am talking about). This  bracelet was the best recommendation ever. Who doesn’t have one lying around? It works!

livestrong_bracelet

No idea half the time, just nod my head yes now in conversation.

What I am heading for is further immersion/education/hands on experience. This is who I am and at this point there is no changing. Just more and more discovery. But let the record show I do possess the pretty shoes, can fix the hair and throw on some lipstick. My entire wardrobe does not consist of bibs, waders, and favorite fishing t-shirts. In fact I have a pretty fancy pair of cowboy boots, I love. LOL.

*goofiest pic ever @ IGFA

And here is the beauty of  the thought process:

We have to be what we love, what are passion is. If we deny or push it down it takes away from us. The happiness we all have we must tap into. If you spend your days with people who do not support or appreciate those things about you, they are missing a great deal of the best part of you. Which is sad. The rest is maintenance. But your passions will sustain you in the darkest, loneliest most hopeless hours. (I know) Embrace it, dream it, do it. And if you’re blessed you will get to spend time with people who share it. Through those times will come with discovery,  laughter and the security of knowing true happiness I believe.♥

 I have learned to observe, far better than most people observe. I am not blinded by the past or motivated by the future. I focus on the present because that is where I am destined to live.” -David Levithan

