Circle of life stuff

I learned this exercise a long time ago. You will need a blank sheet of paper (8 x 10 works best), any writing utensil’s in different colors, and a quiet place to think while doing it.

First draw a small circle in the middle of the page. Color it a color that makes you happy (it represents YOU). Next you are going to draw lines like sun beams. Each line (pick color’s carefully) represents people in your life. The ones that bring much happiness and pleasure get the longest, boldest  lines, the shortest are for the ones that do not.

See the long lines? You want those. And while you make your way through life the long lines are the ones that are going to count the most. They come and go but some remain.

You may only have a few or be blessed with many it does not matter. What matters is surround yourself with those kind of people. Let’s face it there are plenty of short lines. People who sincerely think being an ahole is ok. It’s not. But it has taken me a long time to realize my value as a human being and to start noticing those  sunbeams more and letting them in.

“A person who has good thoughts cannot be ugly. You can have a wonky nose and crocked mouth and a double chin and stick out teeth, but if you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely”. Roald Dahl

So where am I going with this? Just really thinking out-loud about people I  like being around. I never want to take for granted  all the people close to me and  the wonderful fishing friends I have made over the years. In person, message board, blogger, twitter.. we are all enriched by the knowledge shared, stories, and lives of each other. I am truly grateful. Thank you.

