“About me”

I see these all the time and cringe. What about me? Right now I have to go there. It’s a small part of a greater thing I am working on. So what about me…. so much and so little space, but really I am probably not much different then most anyone else. There is the exception of the journey my life has presented me with and the life experiences along the way. Probably not the same as yours, least some of it I hope not for some chapters and wish for the other.

I grew up and spent most of my life in NNJ. My goal as child was to one day be a comic book illustrator/Artist. Everything  fascinated me and still does to this day. People, nature, life, cooking, gardening, reading, but most of all fishing.  I was highly influenced by both nature and being so close to NY and its culture. People talk about places in NYC and most likely I have been there and have perfect clarity of the memory. Fishing has brought great things to my life so many wonderful memories and good friends.  I loved to read and still do a lot.In fact this book changed my life:

51LnORsfE2L._SL500_

I listen to all kinds of music, it’s always there when I need it most. My music is always well thought out on here.  Did you notice staying on the me? Not being self-centered, just trying to make a point.  One thing I notice is people generally describe themselves associated as or part of a bigger entity. Besides being  (occupation),friends, siblings, family, partners  etc.. you are still you.

And this is where we really need to pay attention because you mean something in this world. YOU.

041-1-1

For a long time I shuffled along and did not feel “important” and I was ok with that. Because I never like to want for anything. I am humble in all that I am blessed with good and bad at times. But this is a very foolish risk to take with yourself, specially if there is something you really want out of life. If YOU don’t think you are important  you are not going to think you deserve the thing your heart most desires.

So now I am right there. And that one thing is glaring at  me and I can’t stop looking at it. As described so eloquently by W H Auden:

“I am sure it is everyone’s experience, as it has been mine, that any discovery we make about ourselves or the meaning of life is never, like a scientific discovery, a coming upon something entirely new and unsuspected; it is rather, the coming to conscious recognition of something, which we really knew all the time but, because we were unwilling to formulate it correctly, we did not hitherto know we knew.”

Now I have to take this and figured it out because it’s not going anywhere until I make my peace with it. Which ultimately could lead me right to happiness on a whole other level.

Before I end this I just wanted to say thanks and give a few hugs to the people who get it. That fire burning inside, the forward positive vision of looking at this beautiful journey with love. The idea that things matter and life is fragile and the kindness we give to each other sustains us. If it was just fishing it would be great but there’s more to it.

If your compassion does not include yourself it

is incomplete.” – Guatama Buddha

NJ salt water lic renewed  now I just need the PA  for fresh. I am about to come alive again.

2 thoughts on ““About me”

Comments are closed.