The Lump of Coal

It is a miracle you can find true friends, and it is a miracle you have enough food to eat, and it is a miracle if you get to spend your days and evenings doing whatever it is you like to do, and the holiday season – is a good time not only to tell those stories of miracles, but to think about the miracles in your life, and to be grateful for them, and that’s the end of this particular story. – Lemony Snicket “The Lump of Coal” (read the book!)

cell phone 158

Going to write about giving a little. Some talk of fishing maybe involved but mostly it will be about the thought process of giving personally.

So much of our time is spent running around looking for something perfect. This year while somewhat sticking to list’s and being (for the first time ever) organized – I did things a bit different.

All year-long I made notes and kept track of days and times that really meant something. I took it from there and incorporated it all into the gift giving. So my list this year involved a lot of research, tracking down items, and creating stories. I am going as far as making my own cards one by one based on the person I care so much about.

003

I feel really different the last few months and maybe that has been obvious in my blogging. My apologies. The fishing is about to get better and hopefully the write ups too.  It’s been a great year on the water. Many  personal goals accomplished.  So many life events to look back on and reflect. It’s been some knock-downs, get up and brush yourself off things. But there have been so many magical moments to be grateful for. In this space alone my world has opened up to so many, real and good people.

So as an early gift to you I’d like to share some music and a short video I hope you take a minute to watch and share:

For you:

Until next week… I am working on my Dear Santa (a little late) letter… xoxoxo FWG

Thanksgiving 2012 008

3 thoughts on “The Lump of Coal

Comments are closed.