‘To judge a man by his weakest link or deed is like judging the power of the ocean by one wave.’

The title quote is by Elvis, it was found written in his personal Bible. Funny how life can expose who you are even after you are gone for some time.

Just some pics (Worlds End State Park and others places I have been blessed to see) and words no fishing report just yet. Waiting on the Fall Run as that is where the heart of my love for fishing lies. Stripers.♥ The Journey.

So I was feeling bad for myself and was trying to shake it off.  I needed some connection. So I took off my shoes and walked out into the grass. I wanted to know at that moment what it felt like to feel things again. To notice the soft blades of grass beneath my feet, the chill of fall in the soil. I wanted to give it as much meaning as it had lost these last few months. Filling my lungs with cool air and exhale some of the bad stuff. Just breath.  For a while now I just kept trying to shelve it all or compartmentalized. It catches up with you.

Why do we do that?  Why when we go through something painful do we diminish what we are feeling? Seems like when we are children and get hurt, lose something, get lost we immediately express it and it’s ok. Let it out.  As adults it’s just not acceptable to cry or say things are suckie right now. Saying I just need a hug or to share a few minutes with people who we care about and care about us is a no. I just try never to impose. Why must we always have to be so strong? I am weak.

So much of our life, our story makes us who we are.  All the good and bad adds up to exactly who you are right now. In my own space I am fine with me.  It took a lot of making peace with myself but I am there. But I still have difficulty accepting less in others.

I read this quote the other day and it just stuck with me:

“You own everything that happened to you. Tell your stories. If people wanted you to write warmly about them, they should’ve behaved better.”-Anne Lemott

So yeah!  What if you looked back and around at the way you sincerely treat everyone? From the special needs person bagging your groceries, the Veteran driving a school bus, the CEO, your doctor, neighbor,  friends, family, the person closest to your heart. Do you give them all the same amount of respect and care? (Without the well this person is this way- don’t care- be honest with yourself)

 People tell me all the time I talk to everyone, do you know why? Because I care and everyone has a fascinating story. Sometimes I meet someone and they are just so wonderful and full of life I just want to hug them and thank them for being in this beautiful world. Even when I feel pain a simple kind gesture gives me such strength and hope in people. Smile.

Most of the time I turn to nature for comfort because it’s always there and never judges me. It is my constant companion and I am forever grateful in that knowledge.

So my journey continues to have some peace. I have no answers, no epiphanies, no wise words…. just making my way in hopes that I can figure some of it out. ♥

6 thoughts on “‘To judge a man by his weakest link or deed is like judging the power of the ocean by one wave.’

  1. I would like to thank you for following my Twitter account. Your blog is beautiful and very inspiring !

Comments are closed.