Exposure and coming clean

On a quest, I am trying to rein in my thoughts and desires. Seems they become somewhat big and unmanageable. So I thought back and took a look deeper. The journey is never-ending but the goals got distorted.  Many times they become the goals of those around us. So here is a simple list for now (just fishing related):

  • Steelhead Oncorhynchus mykiss(I have to be careful the bug has bit me as bad as the stripers did)
  • Beat last years biggest flounder
  • Knots
  • Fly fishing more
  • Kayak fishing
There are things not on the list like a secret desire “wow if that happened” but I am trying to be more reasonable with myself.

Onto the bigger scope of life I promise every day to learn about at least one new place in the world. Visually is the starting line and my mind takes off and takes me there. First and foremost the locks in any canal drive me nuts (Panama canal is a hopeful destination for me like, some people want to go to Disney) and I am simply intrigued by them (canals). Lately the Corinth Canal has me dreaming about a passage through and what it would be like.

I am deeply fascinated by this great big beautiful world everyday and the people shuffling about.

Que the music first:

Enjoy xoxo-♥

The Corinth Canal connects the Gulf of Corinth with the Saronic Gulf in the Aegean Sea. Built between 1881 and 1893, the builders of the canal dug through the isthmus at sea level, thereby avoiding the employment of locks.  At 4 miles (6.4 kilometers) in length and only 70 feet (21.3 meters) wide, most modern-day ships find the Corinth Canal impossible to pass. The initial attempt at building the canal took place in the 1st century AD, the attempt was subsequently dropped and it was not until 1881 that construction finally started on the canal. The Corinth Canal was finally completed in 1893, but due to the narrowness of the canal problems with navigation and periodic closings for repair of landslips from the steep walls have exasperated the water way.
Mythology surrounds the canal as ruler’s for more than 2,000 years had considered its construction. Setting aside the lack of technology, ancient Greek’s feared opposing the sea God Poseidon, preventing the Corinth Canal from turning from an idea into a reality. As an alternative, the ancient Greeks created the “Diolkos”. The “Diolkos” was a limestone path for wheeled vehicles that the Greeks lifted their ships upon, pulling them across the path.
Bolivia
Salar de Uyuni
The world’s largest salt flat at 4,085 square miles. It is estimated to contain 10 billion tons of salt and was formed as a result of transformations between several prehistoric lakes. It is covered by a  salt crust of extreme flatness. When covered with water, the Salar becomes one of the largest mirrors on Earth.
Saltburn Peir
Saltburn’s Victorian pier was the first iron pier to be built on the North East Coast, is the most northerly surviving British Pier and the only remaining pleasure pier on the North East coast. Built in an exposed position and facing due north into the cruel and unforgiving North Sea, the history of Saltburn Pier tells a tale of survival against the elements. The pier was commissioned by the Saltburn Pier Company in 1867, designed by Mr J Anderson and completed two years later, opening in May 1869.
info & pics via google
7 thoughts on “Exposure and coming clean

  1. Really interesting destinations… our boat went through the panama canal last month (wish I could have been there) and I’m working on a new blog post with videos from the canal crossing and the locks… coming soon.

    1. I can’t wait to read it/see it. Your blog is one of my favorites. My friends and I have been reading and cheering for you and your family.

  2. Knots are the first thing I teach a kid I take fishing. The uni and palamar are all they really need but I throw in a couple more for good measure. Great read.

  3. that steelhead bug bites hard! good luck with your 2012 goals. do you have steelhead plans for the fall? fished with some NY locals this year and was invited to fish the Gennesee counting the days!!!!!

    Tip up and tight lines!

    1. Thank you for the kind words. Working on a plan! Is that the river in Rochester NY?

  4. yes, in Rochester from what I understand not a very nice neighborhood but the fishing is world class. like i said was invited by locals so makes me feel a little more at ease.

Comments are closed.