Sink or swim

“In this world, there are things you can only do alone, and things you can only do with somebody else. It’s important to combine the two in just the right amount.” -Haruki Murakami (lately reading a lot of his work, and quotes-beautiful)

Got to thinking and I had to look back at my very first blog (you can click on it to read it):

https://freshwatergirl.wordpress.com/2009/05/23/hello-world/

Reflecting back on entries of countless fishing journeys, life lessons and fish caught and some released. But–> I am still somewhere in the middle (brackish). Personally along my journey of life I have so much to be appreciative of and am every minute of the day.  Never taking a second for granted. The core of my inner person though is still yearning for the part you get to when you are content, not with material things or accomplishments… but with who I am as a person, what I am willing to give and receive. I know  it’s something I sincerely desire to be better at.

Admittedly my life has left some scars which makes getting close to me a difficult task.  Trust is so difficult for me. Showing weakness, sharing dreams, the mere thought or sharing with someone the kind of laughter that makes your stomach hurt, all those things…. I hold onto, long for. I am relentlessly hard on myself as the echo’s of criticism in my past play over and over. When I accomplish something major I have a very hard time accepting. I get half way to sharing something and then hold back.

I question everything about the world, life, and living, I am moved by a simple act of kindness. In my presence it never ever goes unnoticed. My cup runneth over with compassion for others, specially those who have beat the odds… and are successful in happiness. Not material things… people who are genuinely happy. I just loving being around people all ages who can openly express happiness.

I love life, everyday I wake up and just enjoy every minute of the beauty this world has to offer. I like being outside and being one with nature…. camping, fishing, hiking. Still on my journey I am making my way.

This summer I experienced numerous  spectacular adventures, some really challenged me personally to look deep inside. Physically challenging yourself and motivating on a personal level will change you, bring you some peace, give you courage to seek what you so desire, send you on your way to incorporate it everyday.

A little at a time, I’ll share some photo’s of my journey’s (click on them to enlarge)… and things I saw that inspired me… changed me, touched me, helped me understand who I am. In this place I share not only fishing reports but life and living, something I want to talk more about sometimes… something I think we can all relate to because… Many men go fishing all of their lives without knowing it is not fish they are after.-Henry David Thoreau

People along the way… everyone has a story…

Why do people have to be this lonely? What’s the point of it all? Millions of people in this world, all of them yearning, looking to others to satisfy them, yet isolating themselves. Why? Was the earth put here just to nourish human loneliness?

-Haruki Murakami-

