8

Recently I was thinking about  great women who have influenced my life and I am sincerely grateful for.

My Grandmother was the most beautiful soul I have ever known. She taught me how important the outdoors are. It was though her “stories” that I learned so much and was inspired to touch the top of the trees. I miss her in my life. So much has happened since she passed away, I wish I could have shared with her. Her eyes as blue as the sky’s and full of mischief. It was not an easy life for her but she found something to be happy about every day. When I see a cardinal, a sand castle, a starry night, a silly card, a jar of dill, a grandfather clock,  the ocean…it reminds me of her. She was the glue that kept it all together for the holidays, all year round… her laughter was contagious. She sparkled. There was always so much love and welcoming in her home, I miss that.

There other would have to be someone I never met but has truly inspired me as I imagine it would be quite humbling to be in her presence.

Mother Teresa’s word and work forever etched in my heart….she walked among us:

Let us always meet each other with smile, for the smile is the beginning of love.
Loneliness and the feeling of being unwanted is the most terrible poverty.
“If you judge people, you have no time to love them.”

Not all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love.

“People are often unreasonable and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.
If you are kind, people may accuse you of ulterior motives. Be kind anyway.
If you are honest, people may cheat you. Be honest anyway.
If you find happiness, people may be jealous. Be happy anyway.
The good you do today may be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway.
Give the world the best you have and it may never be enough. Give your best anyway.
For you see, in the end, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.”

Merry Christmas.

One thought on “8

  1. Yes, some grandparents are very special people. Like you I have been very fortunate to have been influenced by mine. It’s too bad so many people do not take advantage of the benefits derived from their shared knowledge and experience. Beautiful posting!

Comments are closed.